AR: Fayetteville

WHERE: Baum Walker Hall at Walton Arts Center.

WHEN: Sunday, September 16, 2012 at 3:00 pm.

TITLE: SoNA Masterworks I

BRIEF ABOUT: One of the most rousing pieces ever written, the Symphony of Northwest Arkansas/SoNA begins its season with Maestro Paul Haas leading Wagner’s Tannhäuser Overture. In addition, guest soloist Winona Fifield joins the orchestra in Barber’s romantic Violin Concerto, which is famous for its blindingly fast finale. Masterworks I will conclude with Brahms’ Symphony No. 2 in D Major, a work that draws its inspiration from the sights and sounds of the Austrian Alps.

MORE DETAILS: Call 479.443.5600 or Email:  

Founded in 1954, the Symphony of Northwest Arkansas (SoNA) is the new name for the North Arkansas Symphony (NASO), and has provided more than 50 years of musical performances and educational opportunities. Under the musical direction of Paul Haas ( , SoNA presents classical and pops performances for symphonic music lovers in Northwest Arkansas, and is engaged in a partnership with the Walton Arts Center ( .

Published by on September 2012. Filed under Arkansas, Art-in-Performance Section. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed