2012 NEA National Heritage Fellows

The Bergrens

     Paul and Darlene Bergren, Dog Sled and Snowshoe Designers and Builders, Minot, North Dakota.  (www.arts.gov/honors/heritage/fellows/fellow.php?id=2012_02&type=bio)




M. Auldridge

   Mike Auldridge, Dobro Player, Silver Spring, Maryland. (www.arts.gov/honors/heritage/fellows/fellow.php?id=2012_01&type=bio)




H. Burnham

     Harold A. Burnham, Master Shipwright, Essex, Massachusetts. (www.arts.gov/honors/heritage/fellows/fellow.php?id=2012_03&type=bio)





A. Head

     Albert B. Head, Traditional Arts Advocate , Montgomery, Alabama. (www.arts.gov/honors/heritage/fellows/fellow.php?id=2012_04&type=bio)



L. Jiménez

    Leonardo “Flaco” Jiménez, Tejano Accordion Player, San Antonio, Texas. (www.arts.gov/honors/heritage/fellows/fellow.php?id=2012_05&type=bio)



L. Nakasone

     Lynne Yoshiko Nakasone, Okinawan Dancer, Honolulu, Hawaii. (www.arts.gov/honors/heritage/fellows/fellow.php?id=2012_06&type=bio)




M. Parker

     Molly Neptune Parker, Passamaquoddy Basketmaker, Princeton, Maine. (www.arts.gov/honors/heritage/fellows/fellow.php?id=2012_07&type=bio)




Paschall Brothers

   The Paschall Brothers, Tidewater Gospel Quartet, Chesapeake, Virginia. (www.arts.gov/honors/heritage/fellows/fellow.php?id=2012_08&type=bio)




A. Statman

     Andy Statman, Klezmer Clarinetist, Mandolinist, Composer, Brooklyn, New York. (www.arts.gov/honors/heritage/fellows/fellow.php?id=2012_09&type=bio)



     “At the NEA, we are working to invest in, support, and celebrate all the arts in this country,” said NEA Chairman Rocco Landesman. “From the tidewater gospel traditions of the Paschall Brothers to Mike Auldridge’s innovative approach to the Dobro and Andy Statman’s work in reviving klezmer music, these nine NEA National Heritage Fellows are not only national leaders in their art forms, but also leaders of their communities in which they live, work, and create.”

     The fellowships are the nation’s highest honor in the folk and traditional arts, and include a one-time award of $25,000 for not only recognizing their artistic excellence and efforts, but also to conserve America’s culture for future generations. In October 2012, they will go to Washington, DC for a series of events including an awards presentation and banquet at the Library of Congress.

Published by on July 2012. Filed under Archives, Art-to-Art Palette Journal, Bugle Section. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed