NEA boss lowers beau geste ‘booms’

     (PNAN-USA- Recently in Washington, D.C., at the 173rd meeting of the National Council on the Arts, NEA Chairman Rocco Landesman made known the artists receiving lifetime honorific awards for their significant contributions to their respective fields of jazz, folk and traditional arts, or opera. “These artists represent the highest level of artistic mastery and we are proud to recognize their achievements,” said Landesman. “Through their contributions, we have been challenged, enlightened, and charmed, and we thank them for devoting their careers to expanding and supporting their art forms.”

     A sum of $450,000 will be awarded to the artists by the NEA, which recognizes both their artistic achievements and supporting their ongoing work as performers, crafts people, teachers, mentors, scholars, and/or advocates. Each will receive $25,000.00 who were chosen from nominations submitted by the public and reviewed by panels of their peers.

     2011 NEA National Heritage Fellows are: Laverne Brackens, Quilter (born in Butler, Texas; lives in Fairfield, Texas); Bo Dollis, Mardi Gras Indian Chief (born in New Orleans, Louisiana; lives in New Orleans; Jim Griffith, Folklorist (born in Santa Barbara, California; lives in Tucson, Arizona); Roy and PJ Hirabayashi, Taiko Drum Leaders (Roy was born in Berkeley, California; PJ in Ross, California; both live in San Jose); Ledward Kaapana, Ukulele and slack key guitarist (born in Kalapana, Hawaii; lives in Kaneohe); Frank Newsome, Old Regular Baptist singer (born in Pike County, Kentucky; lives in Haysi, Virginia); Carlinhos Pandeiro de Ouro, Pandeiro player & percussionist (born in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; currently lives in Los Angeles, California); Warner Williams, Piedmont blues songster (born in Takoma Park, Maryland; currently lives in Gaithersburg); and Yuri Yunakov, Bulgarian saxophonist (born in Haskovo, Bulgaria; currently lives in Bloomfield, New Jersey). The concert is Friday, September 23, 2011 at the Music Center at Strathmore, Bethesda, Maryland.

     2011 NEA Opera Honorees are: John Conklin, Stage Designer (born in Hartford, Connecticut; lives in New York City, New York); Speight Jenkins, General Director (born in Dallas, Texas; lives in Seattle, Washington); Risë Stevens, Performer (born in Bronx, New York; lives in New York, New York); and Robert Ward, Composer (born in Cleveland, Ohio; lives in Durham, North Carolina). The Concert is Thursday, October 27, 2011 at the Harman Center for the Arts in Washington, D.C.

     2012 NEA Jazz Masters are: Jack DeJohnette, Drummer, Keyboardist, Composer (born in Chicago, Illinois; lives in Willow, New York); Von Freeman, Saxophonist (born in Chicago, Illinois; lives in Chicago); Charlie Haden, Bassist, Composer, Educator (born in Shenandoah, Iowa; lives in Agoura Hills, California); Sheila Jordan, Vocalist, Educator (born in Detroit, Michigan; lives in both Middleburgh and New York City, New York); and Jimmy Owens, Educator, Trumpeter, Flugelhorn Player, Composer, Arranger (born in Bronx, New York; lives in New York City, New York). The Awards Ceremony and Concert is Tuesday, January 10, 2012 in the Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center, New York City, New York.

     For more information, including free tickets to the concerts, which are required and issued on a rolling basis, will be made available at

Published by on June 2011. Filed under Archives, Art-to-Art Palette Journal, Centerstage Section. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed