Artists honored from both ‘fence’ sides

“Guero” by Tania Anchondo, inkjet print, 2009

    (PNAN-TX) – As a collaborative union among the El Paso Museum of Art, Museo de Arte INBA de Ciudad Juarez, Instituto Nacional de Bellas Artes, CONACULTA-INBA, the Mexican Consulate in El Paso, Texas, and the American Consulate in Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua, “Border Art Biennial – Bienal Fronteriza de Arte 2010” opens in the Contemporary Gallery on Saturday, November 20 at the El Paso Museum of Art and will remain on view through February 13, 2011.

     Often under represented, this second juried exhibition examines and highlights the vital art and artists from the states of the US/Mexico border. Rita Gonzalez, Assistant Curator in the Department of Contemporary Art at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, and Itala Schmelz, Director at the Museo de Arte Carrillo Gil in Mexico City are the 2010 jurors.

“Cholo” by Oscar Moya, silkscreen on paper, 2009

     Participating artists are: Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua, Mexico: Rogelio Valenzuela Colomo, Leticia Diaz Moreno, Tania Anchondo and Itzel Aguilera. Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico: Alejandro Cartagena. Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico: Rocio Saenz and Mayra Martell. Tijuana, Baja California Norte, Mexico: Erendira Gonzalez. El Paso, Texas: Brenda Perry, Oscar Moya, Yvianna Hernandez. Santa Fe, New Mexico: Maureen Burdock. Corrales, New Mexico: Cathy Wysocki. Las Cruces, New Mexico: David Taylor and Gregory Phillipy. Mesilla, New Mexico: Anthony Lazorko. Los Angeles, California: Camilo Cruz, Alexandra Grant, Luis Hernandez, Farah Karapetian and Noe Montes. San Leandro, California: Jesus Barraza. Oakland, California: Justin Gainan and Hector Mendoza. Toluca Lake, California: Matt Gainer. La Mirada, California: Joseph Gerges. Long Beach, California: Ed Gomez. Pasadena, California: Nery Gabriel Lemus and Kerianne Quick. San Francisco, California: Vic De La Rosa and Sergio De La Torre. McAllen, Texas: Marian Salinas. Marfa, Texas: Camp Bosworth. San Antonio, Texas: Julia Landois. Spring, Texas: Humberto Saenz. Allen, Texas: Jeffrey Miranda. Fort Davis, Texas: Tim Roberts. Phoenix, Arizona: Dominic Miller, Julie Anand and Damon Sauer. Flagstaff, Arizona: Shawn Skabelund. Dallas, Texas: Paho Mann, Shane Mecklenburger and Michelle Murillo.

“Cristal I” by Itzel Aguilera, metalic pigments on cotton paper, 2009

     The museum series, “Focus Talks” begins Monday, December 1, from 12:15-1:15 pm and continues at various other dates through February 9, 2011. The series will comprise a selection of featured artists in “Border Art Biennial – Bienal Fronteriza de Arte 2010.” For more details, see

Published by on November 2010. Filed under AAMG Cover Section, Archives, Art-to-Art Marketplace Guide. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed